Dog The Bounty Hunter News And Talk

Beth Chapman on Baby Lyssa and Duane Lee’s absence from CMT’s DOG “You can’t force your kids to stay with you forever”

When I sat down with Leland, Dog and Beth Chapman to talk about their upcoming new CMT reality series DOG and told them that my own family loved watching theirs on A&E’s smash Dog the Bounty Hunter, Beth wanted to know what I liked best about the show. I told her it was her family’s bond.

 

Much to my surprise — and with Dog and Leland looking on — she offered candid insight into what the Twittersphere has been discussing since plans for the show were announced in the summer: the absence of Baby Lyssa and Duane Lee Chapman from the cast of the show. 

Slated to being in April, DOG will focus on the three remaining Chapmans as they crisscross the nation, teaching struggling bail bond agencies how to succeed in the embattled trade by helping them hunt down some America’s most dangerous criminals. While the show will highlight the Chapman’s proven methods for capturing criminals, and Leland’s expertise in non-lethal weaponry, DOG will also address the family’s changing dynamic.

“The focal point of the show is our relationship — and our relationship with Leland,” Beth explained. “Because Leland wants to stay with his dad. Duane says this really profound thing where he says, ‘I don’t love you more, son. But you probably love me more than any of the other kids.’ Because as a parent, you don’t love any of your children differently. But theylove you. And their love for you may be stronger than what your sister’s love is. And that’s what Leland is, right? His love for his dad is stronger than the others. And so he doesn’t want to be the one to leave or go away. He wants to be the one staying right here and doing what he does. And so we were really happy about that.”

Though she did not elaborate on whether Duane Lee and Lyssa officially elected to not be part of the new show, Beth suggested that family priorities and individual interests may have factored in. “You know, people grow,” she continued, as Dog leaned into her affectionately, fiddling with the gold zippers on the shoulders of her dress, making Leland grin and shake his head. “Children grow up — and how long can you work for your mom and dad? You become 40 years old and now you’re married and you’re like, ‘Why am I still hanging around my dad?’ You know what I mean? At some point, you feel like there’s got be changes made. And we as parents have to be OK with letting our bird fly. Hopefully it’ll come back and it will know that this was always the best thing for it. But if they don’t, you loved it and you coddled it and you wished it well. You can’t force your kids to stay with you forever.”

Does that mean Lyssa and Duane Lee might join the show at a later date? The Chapmans didn’t say. But in the meantime, you can rest assured that Beth and Dog can relate to the pain and frustration fans felt as the Chapman children entered and exited Dog The Bounty Hunter throughout its eight seasons.

“We were lucky because our kids didn’t go away to college — our kids went to the college of hard knocks with us,” she says. “And so when there was some turmoil in the family, it was like our kids went to college all at the exact same time. We had that separation anxiety from them. But it really wasn’t that. It was just that they were spreading their wings and getting older. And they had their own families.

“Each person has to make their own decisions for their own lives.”

 

see much more at  http://www.channelguidemagblog.com/index.php/2013/01/11/beth-chapman-you-cant-force-your-kids-to-stay-with-you-forever/

Comments on: "Beth Chapman on Baby Lyssa and Duane Lee’s absence from CMT’s DOG" (16)

  1. go you all it them

  2. love the show and i all way will and i would love to me u all

  3. Beth, we own a business and raised our three sons running it with us. All but one decided to fly away, the oldest actually joined the Navy to get away from dear ole dad. Very painful for both of them, and they have both learned a very valuable lesson. Now, five years later he will be leaving the Navy in June after being deployed on an jAircraft Carrier for most of that time. We are very happy to have him back.

  4. great post. Don’t know that I fully agree with everything. However I couldn’t agree more with the point made about the love for your kids, and the love they have for you. .

  5. beeth yu know to do show and rest of yu are ok because we are looking over u ok love the show well get nore love and careooxx

  6. LOVE YOU GUYS YOU GUYS ARE SOO AWESOME LOVE YOU DOGANDBETH AND THE FAMILY KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK AS ALWAYS YOU GUYS DO XOXO HOPING SOON CMT CANADA WILL ADD THE SHOW SO MISS ALOT :( ….

  7. SSSSOOOOOO glad to see the three of you back…it’s been a very LONG time!!!
    We have a 4th generation family business and I hear ya!! It’s very hard. Our girls have worked then left and had families. Our boys are still with us, but there are growing pains and we’re just praying we can keep it all together. We love them with all of our hearts and wish it will become a 5th generation business someday. There’s a LOT of history there. Keep up your fantastic work. You are loved a lot.
    God bless and keep…
    Toni and Jim Moriarty

  8. I’ve watched “Dog, the Bounty Hunter” since it started. And it always seemed to me that Leland was the favorite. Don’t get me wrong, I think he’s great. However I think that Beth is the one who got in between the Dog and Dwane Lee, and Baby Lisa. The way she bosses them around and treats them differently is so obvious especially watching all the reruns it’s no wonder the family fell apart. I think Beth should have stayed home with the kids and let the men do the hunting. Sorry Beth, but I am not a fan of you. I don’t like your new show, they should have called it “Beth on the hunt”. However thanks for the memories Dwane Lee, Baby Lisa, Tim, and The Dog.

  9. Beth< I agree with most of what u said, but im finally glad to see you all back on air….but I have to admit,its not the same without all of you!!!! ive always made sure I was home on every night that your show was on!! I LOVED seeing a family that close…it gives a lot of people hope that life with your family can be very rewarding and full of great times also!!! Im dying to know where my baby lyssa and duane lee went though????? they were just as much as part of what made you ALL!! I think I speak for many when I say we wan t to know where they are and if the family unit is still ok?? This past summer me and my husband got to go to Hawaii for our 20th anniversary….my husband was ready to kill me when I went to the resorts front desk and asked for direections to the DaKine Bail Bonds office in hopes to meet you all….LOL I cant help it, me and my 11 year old are huge fans…and he really likes Gary Boy and all his antics…probably because he is the same!!!

  10. you guys all rock hope you guys can make it to trenton ontario i would love to meet you

  11. I love the new show Dog & Beth On The Hunt, it is what I missed when DTBH, went off the air on A&E, and even all of the emails to the ceo of the network did not help much at all. At least they are back and real strong, I like this show it is awesome, I totally love the bus.

  12. its not the same without tim and duane lee there part off the show baby lyssa was to whinie and acted ms perfect please bring back others

  13. Dogsupporter said:

    Tim is unable to be on the show because of his young family. Duane Lee has said in Florida he wanted to be with his new family. You cannot force
    them to go on TV. Life goes on

  14. Yes that is so true, Life does go on, I have an awesome dream that one of these days I would love to meet my two heroes Duane Dog Chapman and Beth Chapman, I am also a second chance person, I was given a second chance back in 1983 when I was so drunk that I should have been taken to a jail cell, instead I got a Dog style wakeup call in the form of a Law Enforcement officer who took me home, he also put his business card in my shirt pocket with an address on it, The address was of a first step house, that was part of the wakeup call, the second part of this second chance is that he was the secretary of the meeting that night, which was a totally GOD thing, that was the beginning of my journey down the pathway of recovery. I am now sober 30 Years now, also try to help newcomers to the Fellowship of AA As much as I can. I hope to be able to meet both Duane And Beth, one of these days. I would love to break bread with these two awesome people if it is possible I can be reached at poemsrus4183@gmail.com, that is my email address. Thanks again for all of the people that you the crew and the rest of the klan have given wakeup calls to also second chances to.

  15. God Bless Beth, as much as I know our children grow up and go their own ways, it’s disheartening to us as parents! I wish you 3 remaining Chapmans on the show the very best of luck. I never miss a show on A&E or @CMT Love you to pieces! You are a great inspiration :)

Leave a Reply

